• Welcome to Intercity Airways Discussion Forums.

New pilot - introduction and questions

Started by Arron Hartley, Mar 30, 2017 14:04

Previous topic - Next topic

Arron Hartley (1550)

Hello all,

I've just signed up for Intercity after I found a link and description on Majestic's forum. The VA looks like exactly what I was after so looking forward to getting stuck in! I've not been simming very long (about a year, casually) and I only very recently purchased the Dash 8 so I'm still getting to grips with all of the procedures. Really enjoying the process so far though. Up until now I've been flying GA over Norway and England with associated Orbx sceneries and having a blast, but the Dash 8 is the reason I started simming in the first place so its acquisition was inevitable really :). Outside of simming I'm a professional software engineer so happy to help out with any ACARS features/issues if the need arises.

I have a few questions surrounding the VA that I hope can be answered:

1. I'm flying offline right now but really hope to start using VATSIM as soon as I feel confident enough with the Dah 8. Until that time, how does one manage the offline environment? FSX/P3D ATC is less than useful for IFR routes, especially when using up-to-date AIRAC data in an FMC. Do offline fliers simply ignore ATC in these instances? In this case, traffic is best disabled given that ATC could give takeoff clearance when I'm 200m from the threshold!

2. I noticed that the VA has many awards and several different ranks for pilots. However, I can't find a list of these awards/ranks and the requirements to attain them. Are they published on the website anywhere? (maybe I've just overlooked them)