• Welcome to Intercity Airways Discussion Forums.

Operating above 10.000 feet

Started by Dimitri Bespalko, Jul 25, 2015 14:16

Previous topic - Next topic

Dimitri Bespalko (1358)

Hello dear pilots!

I'm new to JS4100 so I have some questions regarding operating this nice aircraft:

1. I tried to find some performance charts for calculating the correct cruise altitude (altitude/load) but without success. The reason for my search is because I cannot get the altitudes described in FAQ (this forum). For example the flight duration from EDDL to LSZB is about 1:30 so the altitude should be above 20.000 feet (see FAQ) but with 29 pax and about 700-800 lbs cargo on board + anti ice + 98% RPM I cannot get at this height! Also my cruise speed (96 RPM) is about 160 IAS (using AI while cruise).
2. The second important question is about AI: in my sim I use ASN for weather and the thing is when I fly i get 20 times icing conditions... To turn on/off 20 times AI is really strange, when I leave the AI ON then I'm delayed due to lower performance of the aircraft. Is this normal that I have so often Icing Conditions or maybe this is a problem of settings (FSX or ASN)? How the real crew doing in such situations? Leaving the AI ON for the whole flight?
3. When flying in icing conditions my wings getting ice (this is normal:-) ) but I need manualy switch every 2 minutes the Wings AI switch to auto in order to break the ice. The new ice is after 1-2 minutes again there so I need to brake again... So the whole flight I just breaking the ice... Is this normal procedure in this aircraft? No coffee brake at all???

I jumped from B77W to this aircraft because I was looking for short flights. But the thing is that flying the B77W is SO EASY in comparison to this small turboprop aircraft!

Chris Liu (1001)

Hi Dimitri, welcome aboard!